Breaking by Danielle Rollins

cover109679-mediumBreaking by Danielle Rollins is a young adult novel that is scheduled to be released on June 6, 2017. Rollins writing style is very addictive, capturing your attention and holding on till the very end. The plot line is very intriguing yet sad at times. The story is about Charlotte who is a very quite person who is somewhat of a loner. She just isn’t like the other kids at her school. Neither is Ariel or Devon which is Continue reading

Being a Witch, and Other Things I Didn’t Ask For by Sara Pascoe

being a witchI found that Being a Witch, and Other Things I Didn’t Ask For by Sara Pascoe was a very fun book to read! Raya is a teenage girl that is in foster care and does not realize that she is a witch.  She and her cat Oscar go on a series of adventures all while learning and adapting to her new found powers. Being a Witch is written with amazing characters and plot line. The setting for this book in unreal. Pascoe does an outstanding job in creating and writing about the settings so that you feel as if you are really there enjoying the fun Raya and Oscar. The story time travels back to the witch trials and teaches you a little about the history of the trials.  I found this book fast paced and very exciting to read.  You really do not want to miss out on this young adult read. **I received this book free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.** You can get you copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) When you’re fourteen and life has been nothing but hurt and disappointment, Raya decides it’s time to strike out on her own. She leaves the boring village and what she’s determined will be her last foster placement, for the excitement of London. But it turns out she’s a witch, with the annoying habit of time-travelling — by accident. And a sarcastic witch’s cat Oscar tags along for the ride. Why would she fling herself into the midst of the Essex Witch Trials in 1645 England? After being arrested by one of history’s most notorious witch hunters, her social worker and witch mentor Bryony goes back to try to save them from the gallows. But returning to present day London remains out of reach when they find themselves in 1645 stanbul/Constantinople. There, life is more amazing than she ever dreamed. Can she stay? And at what cost?

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**

Street Song by Sheena Wilkinson

cover110485-mediumStreet Song by Sheena Wilkinson is a young adult novel that is scheduled to be released on April 20, 2017 by Black and White Publishing. The setting is Dublin and Belfast, which adds to the plot line and characters of the story. Wilkinson does an outstanding job in creating characters with real life problems and showing how they deal with them. I think this story really deals with the effects that can come after fifteen minutes of fame and what comes next. I really love that music plays a big part of this story because I am a huge music lover.  The author uses this love for music to help Rylee (Ryan) find comfort and security with someone who helps him overcome his hardships. Toni is the main reason for the change in Ryan for the better. I really enjoyed reading this young adult novel and look forward to reading more from this author. **I received an Advanced Readers copy of this book in exchange from my honest and unbiased review.**

Synopsis: Ryan’s career is over. After winning a TV talent show and becoming a teen sensation, his fame has spiralled into addiction, embarrassing headlines and career suicide. Now his image-obsessed stepdad wants him at home, back in school and under his thumb. However, a chance meeting with the enigmatic Toni offers him a fresh start in a new city. Before long he has reinvented himself, made real friends and is playing real music in Toni’s band. Despite living in a hostel, busking for his wages and living under a false identity, Ryan is finally happy. But struggling to exist on the brink of homelessness, he is exposed to a more sinister world. Forced to truly decide what kind of person he wants to be, Ryan begins to realise that starting over comes at a price.

Imagines: Boy Band Babes by Doeneseya Bates; Debra Goelz; Blair Holden; Kassandra Tate; Bel Watson; Ashley Winters

imginesImagines: Boy Band Babes is a fun fan fantasy that features you as the star. This book makes you the main character along side Justin Bieber, Zayn Malik, Michael Clifford, Niall Horan, Zac Efron, and Shawn Mendes! I found this book a fun and up beat kind of read. I have to admit that this is not my usual pick for a book. The authors are really creative with the story lines, settings, and making you feel like you really are in a relationship with these leading men. Again, this is a fun read if you are looking for something to make you smile and laugh out loud at times.  ** I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.** You can purchase your copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) Fanfiction at its best, from your favorite Wattpad authors! In this collection drawn from the Imagines anthology headlined by Anna Todd (After, Nothing More) comes six stories putting “YOU” alongside your favorite pop stars, including Justin Bieber, Zayn Malik, Michael Clifford, Niall Horan, Zac Efron, and Shawn Mendes! A unique and daring series of imagines in which you get to uncover the real boy behind the pop star hottie! Told in the second-person, “you” get to step into these swoonworthy and unpredictable adventures and do things like go on a romantic and exciting scavenger hunt through the city in search of your husband Justin Bieber, attend the prom of your dreams with Michael Clifford, and party with Shawn Mendes. Dive into the fantasy worlds of your favorite pop stars now! Note: Although this book mentions many real celebrities, they have not participated in, authorized, or endorsed its creation.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity) by Victoria Schwab

this savage songI have heard a lot about This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity) by Victoria Schwab. So, I knew I had to read it! I loving reading books that other people review and talk about with high praise and lots of love. I feel this is a book that almost everyone who reads the book becomes a fan. I really like the writing style of Victoria Schwab. She does a really creative job with the plot line in this book. The characters are well thought out and so is the setting.  While the story is slow to start, I feel like it keeps building and building towards the big finale.  I love how the monsters are created out of the shadows of violence.  The story plots Kate Harker from the North side and August Fynn from the South side against each other. While peace between both sides begins to crumble and war seems to loom on the horizon.  I really like how Schwab does not create a romantic relationship between Kate and August, instead there is just a really strong friendship.  This friendship helps to create an amazing story that takes many unexpected turns.  I feel that the book was very slow to start and I begin to become hooked in the middle. However, after reading the ending I am excited to read the next book in this series. If you want to read this book for yourself to see what I am talking about, then get your copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor. Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**

 

The Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring

the football girl picIf you are looking for a book that will encourage you to do something that you are unsure about or scared to try then The Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring is the book for you. I really enjoyed reading this book about a girl named Tessa Dooley who loves football more than cross country. She decides to try out for her high school football team along side her boyfriend, Caleb McCleary. Caleb is not surprised by this because they play flag football together outside of school and he thinks she is a really good player. While Tessa is an outstanding cross country runner, there is something about football that she loves more. This book shows the challenges that many people face when they decide to face their fears and go for their dreams. I really like how Heldring creates a plot line and setting that is so real you can almost smell the fresh cut grass of the football field.  The ending of this book is a complete surprise, you will have to read it to find out why. This book is a really great read if you need some encouragement.  ** I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**  You can get your copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) The summer before Caleb and Tessa enter high school, friendship has blossomed into a relationship . . . and their playful sports days are coming to an end. Caleb is getting ready to try out for the football team, and Tessa is training for cross-country. But all their structured plans derail in the final flag game when they lose. Tessa doesn’t want to end her career as a loser. She really enjoys playing, and if she’s being honest, she likes it even more than running cross-country. So what if she decided to play football instead? What would happen between her and Caleb? Or between her two best friends, who are counting on her to try out for cross-country with them? And will her parents be upset that she’s decided to take her hobby to the next level? This summer Caleb and Tessa figure out just what it means to be a boyfriend, girlfriend, teammate, best friend, and someone worth cheering for.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**