Here We Are: Notes For Living On Planet Earth by Oliver Jeffers – Review

Here We Are: Notes For Living On Planet EarthInsightfully sweet, with a gentle humor and poignancy, here is Oliver Jeffers’ user’s guide to life on Earth. He created it specially for his son, yet with a universality that embraces all children and their parents. Be it a complex view of our planet’s terrain (bumpy, sharp, wet), a deep look at our place in space (it’s big), or a guide to all of humanity (don’t be fooled, we are all people), Oliver’s signature wit and humor combine with a value system of kindness and tolerance to create a must-have book for parents. Continue reading

The Witches of New York: A Novel by Ami McKay – Book Review

24723284

The Witches of New York: A Novel by Ami McKay was published July 11th 2017 by Harper Perennial (first published October 8th 2016).. Synopsis: New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums. Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn. When seventeen-year-old Continue reading

Book Review: A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

cover112715-medium

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is a young adult novel that will be released by Random House on September 26th, 2017. – SYNOPSIS: Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews. Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin #1,001 nearly stops your heart? Right. That sounds like a bad movie already. Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, Continue reading

Breaking by Danielle Rollins

cover109679-mediumBreaking by Danielle Rollins is a young adult novel that is scheduled to be released on June 6, 2017. Rollins writing style is very addictive, capturing your attention and holding on till the very end. The plot line is very intriguing yet sad at times. The story is about Charlotte who is a very quite person who is somewhat of a loner. She just isn’t like the other kids at her school. Neither is Ariel or Devon which is Continue reading

Being a Witch, and Other Things I Didn’t Ask For by Sara Pascoe

being a witchI found that Being a Witch, and Other Things I Didn’t Ask For by Sara Pascoe was a very fun book to read! Raya is a teenage girl that is in foster care and does not realize that she is a witch.  She and her cat Oscar go on a series of adventures all while learning and adapting to her new found powers. Being a Witch is written with amazing characters and plot line. The setting for this book in unreal. Pascoe does an outstanding job in creating and writing about the settings so that you feel as if you are really there enjoying the fun Raya and Oscar. The story time travels back to the witch trials and teaches you a little about the history of the trials.  I found this book fast paced and very exciting to read.  You really do not want to miss out on this young adult read. **I received this book free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.** You can get you copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) When you’re fourteen and life has been nothing but hurt and disappointment, Raya decides it’s time to strike out on her own. She leaves the boring village and what she’s determined will be her last foster placement, for the excitement of London. But it turns out she’s a witch, with the annoying habit of time-travelling — by accident. And a sarcastic witch’s cat Oscar tags along for the ride. Why would she fling herself into the midst of the Essex Witch Trials in 1645 England? After being arrested by one of history’s most notorious witch hunters, her social worker and witch mentor Bryony goes back to try to save them from the gallows. But returning to present day London remains out of reach when they find themselves in 1645 stanbul/Constantinople. There, life is more amazing than she ever dreamed. Can she stay? And at what cost?

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**

Incriminating Dating by Rebekah L. Purdy

incriminating dating

I recently got the opportunity to read Incriminating Dating by Rebekah L. Purdy. I fell in love with the characters and story line from the very beginning. Purdy does an outstanding job creating the characters, settings and plot line. The story has two points of views, one from Ayla Hawkins and another from Luke Pressier. Ayla is what some might say a geek. She is involved with the drama club, editor of the school paper and a huge comic/video game geek. She has an ongoing dislike for Jenna and decides to run against her for class president to try to save the school clubs she loves so much from losing their funding. Jenna is the typical high school popular girl who only cares about the in crowd. This feud makes for a great deal of drama and heated arguments. While Luke is one of the popular kids, a basketball star and loved by everyone, he has a dark secret that he has only told his best friend Brady. Ayla stumbles upon a way to blackmail Luke into being her pretend boyfriend hoping this would help her get enough votes to win the election. Luke has no choice but to go along with this plan or lose his full ride scholarship. Little do they both know they are more alike then they thought and fall for each other. I really felt like this story relates to a lot of teens and high school in general. I look forward to reading more of Rebekah L. Purdy’s books. **Thank you so much to Entangled Publishing for providing me an Advanced Readers Copy of this book on NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review!**

About this book: Ayla Hawkins is ready to stand up for change in her high school. But winning the election for class president against popular Jenna Lee will be impossible without a miracle. When she stumbles upon Mr. Perfect Luke Pressler defacing public property and catches it on camera: cue miracle. Ayla’s got the dirt she needs to get Luke on Team Ayla—in the form of her new fake boyfriend. One mistake. All Luke wanted was a night to goof off, to blow off steam. The pressure of maintaining the perfect facade when his reality was crumbling around him had become too much, and next thing he knew, he was pretending to date Ayla Hawkins. But his little blackmailer turns out to be kind. Honorable. Opinionated. And just the breath of fresh air he didn’t even realize he was suffocating for. But Luke and Ayla come from different worlds, and once the election is over, their fauxmance will be, too. (Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book features adult language, sexual situations, and plenty of girl power. Reading may result in swooning, laughing, and looking for a Luke of your own.)

About the author: Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. She’s lived in Michigan most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army. At which time she got a chance to experience Missouri, Kansas, South Carolina, and California. Rebekah has a business degree from University of Phoenix and currently works full time for the court system. In her free time she writes YA stories, anything from YA Fantasy to YA Contemporary Romance. Rebekah also has a big family (6 kids), she likes to consider her family as the modern day Brady Bunch complete with crazy road trips and game nights. When not hiding at her computer, Rebekah enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, traveling, and hanging out with her family and gazillion pets.

Buy your copy here:  

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2nRggHS

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2nNXIbq

iBooks: http://apple.co/2nggaXh

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2nR6ghY

Amazon.co.uk: http://amzn.to/2mAFcTZ

Amazon.ca: http://amzn.to/2nxy2yX

Entangled Publishing: http://bit.ly/2mAOv6f

Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2nxcjaA

Connect with Rebekah L. Purdy:

Website: http://www.rebekahlpurdy.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RebekahLPurdy

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rebekahlpurdyauthor/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4615084.Rebekah_L_Purdy

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rebekahlpurdy/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rebekah-L.-Purdy/e/B004MBLWGO

 **This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**