Here We Are: Notes For Living On Planet Earth by Oliver Jeffers – Review

Here We Are: Notes For Living On Planet EarthInsightfully sweet, with a gentle humor and poignancy, here is Oliver Jeffers’ user’s guide to life on Earth. He created it specially for his son, yet with a universality that embraces all children and their parents. Be it a complex view of our planet’s terrain (bumpy, sharp, wet), a deep look at our place in space (it’s big), or a guide to all of humanity (don’t be fooled, we are all people), Oliver’s signature wit and humor combine with a value system of kindness and tolerance to create a must-have book for parents. Continue reading

The Witches of New York: A Novel by Ami McKay – Book Review

24723284

The Witches of New York: A Novel by Ami McKay was published July 11th 2017 by Harper Perennial (first published October 8th 2016).. Synopsis: New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums. Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn. When seventeen-year-old Continue reading

Book Review: A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

cover112715-medium

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is a young adult novel that will be released by Random House on September 26th, 2017. – SYNOPSIS: Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews. Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin #1,001 nearly stops your heart? Right. That sounds like a bad movie already. Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, Continue reading

Breaking by Danielle Rollins

cover109679-mediumBreaking by Danielle Rollins is a young adult novel that is scheduled to be released on June 6, 2017. Rollins writing style is very addictive, capturing your attention and holding on till the very end. The plot line is very intriguing yet sad at times. The story is about Charlotte who is a very quite person who is somewhat of a loner. She just isn’t like the other kids at her school. Neither is Ariel or Devon which is Continue reading