Sweet Tea and Summer Love by Regan Claire – Review

SweetTea_FINALCOVERSweet Tea and Summer Love by Regan Claire

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance

Release Date: February 9th 2017
SYNOPSIS: It’s been more than a decade since Anna Lynne graced the home where she spent every summer of her childhood. Now, she’s back and overwhelmed by memories of her last summer there. One defined by loss, love, growth, and change. A few short months that changed her forever. Anna Lynne was mourning her father while most of her friends were thinking about college, making her question everything about the life she used to live, and the person she no longer wanted to be. She felt isolated in her grief—until she met Will and his sister, outcasts far outside her normal social circle. Through them, she learned about sacrifice and strength; about loyalty and love. Ultimately, they taught her that tragedy comes in more ways than one. As she recalls that fateful summer and the reason she stayed away from the only home she ever knew, Anna Lynne can’t help but wonder how the people she left behind managed to navigate the heartbreak she helped create—and if they can ever forgive her.

About the author: A Tidewater girl born and bred, Regan Claire’s first friend and love was the Atlantic. Growing up being told legends about pirates and American Natives common in coastal VA and NC, coupled with being an only child, did wonders for her imagination; she’s had one foot in fantasy-land ever since, a trait her closest friends heroically endure (and one she secretly hopes her two daughters have inherited). She moved inland to Nashville when she was entering tweenhood, and not a day goes by that she doesn’t miss her childhood playmate and it’s crashing waves. Nashville has her perks though, and Regan’s proud to be raising her children in Music City. She loves fairy tales, teen movies, and is constantly late.

STSL Promo _filled his vision_

My review: Sweet Tea and Summer Love is an amazing young adult romance novel. I truly enjoyed reading this book. Claire does an superb job in creating a unique plot line. I like how she created characters that are life like and realistic. The setting is a must for this story and Claire managed to pull that off effectively. The story is based on Anna Lynne telling her sister about the summer with her first love. There is a lot of jumping back from past to present but it helps in telling this lovely story. The love between Will and Allie (what he calls Anna) is swoon worthy making it the perfect summer love. However, this story does have its ups and downs it helps to blend the story and characters into one. I really enjoyed this story and feel the author done an outstanding job! **I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**

STSL Promo pic _I still don't see a problem_

And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon

and the nwe ranAnd Then We Ran by Katy Cannon was released April 2017.  Cannon does an amazing job in creating the plot and setting for this book. I really like how she created characters that are life like and believable. They are the types of characters that you can relate to.  When I think about most road trip novels that I have read in the last, I think of a nightmarish or scary type of ending. I found this ending to be a complete surprise. This book deals with family issues, financial issues, and romance.  I feel that this book stresses on the importance of listening to the people who care about you, like your parents and friends. Everyone needs a support system. So loves, as you can tell I really liked this book and the messages it sends. I seriously recommend this book! **I received this book for free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**

Synopsis: A road-trip story about following your dreams and embracing the unexpected.
Megan knows what she wants out of life and she intends to get it, whatever her parents say. Elliott has given up on all his plans for the future – but then Megan bursts into his life with a proposal that could change it forever.
Together they embark on a road trip to escape their hometown and chase their dreams. But life is a journey and not even Megan can control where theirs will lead…
Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Rainbow Rowell and Non Pratt.

Future Leaders of Nowhere by Emily O’Beirne

future leadersFuture Leaders of Nowhere by Emily O’Beirne was released March 2017 by Ylva Publishing. This is the first book that I have read from author Emily O’Beirne. I find her writing style to be different than most young adult authors because it as a real naturalness or freshness. This book is really relatable and has a warm, loving overall feel. I found myself laughing a lot as I read this book. O’Beirne does an outstanding job in creating the setting and story line for this novel. She has created a group of characters that you can relate to or they remind you of someone you know. I found this book to be a very good read and well written. This book does have diversity and shows how teens deal with such issues. I look forward to reading more of Emily O’Beirne’s works in the future. **I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.** If you would like to read this amazing book, you can get a copy HERE.

Synopsis: Finn’s solid. Not in body, but in being. She’s gravity and kindness and all those good things that anchor. Willa’s confusing. Sometimes she’s this sweet, sensitive soul. Other times she’s like a flaming arrow you hope isn’t coming for you. Finn and Willa have been picked as team leaders in the future leader camp game. The usually confident Finn doesn’t know what’s throwing her more, the fact she’s leading a team of highly unenthusiastic overachievers or coming up against fierce, competitive Willa. And Willa doesn’t know which is harder, leaving her responsibilities behind to pursue her goals or opening up to someone. Soon they both realize that the hardest thing of all is balancing their clashing ideals with their unexpected connection. And finding a way to win, of course.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links.**

The Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring

the football girl picIf you are looking for a book that will encourage you to do something that you are unsure about or scared to try then The Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring is the book for you. I really enjoyed reading this book about a girl named Tessa Dooley who loves football more than cross country. She decides to try out for her high school football team along side her boyfriend, Caleb McCleary. Caleb is not surprised by this because they play flag football together outside of school and he thinks she is a really good player. While Tessa is an outstanding cross country runner, there is something about football that she loves more. This book shows the challenges that many people face when they decide to face their fears and go for their dreams. I really like how Heldring creates a plot line and setting that is so real you can almost smell the fresh cut grass of the football field.  The ending of this book is a complete surprise, you will have to read it to find out why. This book is a really great read if you need some encouragement.  ** I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**  You can get your copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) The summer before Caleb and Tessa enter high school, friendship has blossomed into a relationship . . . and their playful sports days are coming to an end. Caleb is getting ready to try out for the football team, and Tessa is training for cross-country. But all their structured plans derail in the final flag game when they lose. Tessa doesn’t want to end her career as a loser. She really enjoys playing, and if she’s being honest, she likes it even more than running cross-country. So what if she decided to play football instead? What would happen between her and Caleb? Or between her two best friends, who are counting on her to try out for cross-country with them? And will her parents be upset that she’s decided to take her hobby to the next level? This summer Caleb and Tessa figure out just what it means to be a boyfriend, girlfriend, teammate, best friend, and someone worth cheering for.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**

The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren

the last thing you saidWhen I got the chance to read The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren I was so excited! I have heard nothing but wonderful things about this book and author. I will admit that this is a tear jerker but there are laughs along the way. The story follows Lucy (Lulu) whose best friend (Trixie) dies without warning. This leaves Lucy and Trixie’s brother Ben in shock and having a hard time excepting the fact that she is gone. The story takes places in a Minnesota resort town where Ben’s family owns a resort where they both work during their summers. It has been almost a year after the accident and they still are not talking. Lucy makes a friend with Hannah, a new girl at their school. While Ben spirals out of control drinking and going from girl to girl. However this summer takes a different turn from last summer. They find that they can’t stop thinking and worrying about each other bring them together at the end. While I could not put this book down, I found that it is really an emotional read with a happy ending, Biren  does an amazing job a creating a story that really pulls at your heart strings. ** I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**  You can get your copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) Last summer, Lucy’s and Ben’s lives changed in an instant. One moment, they were shyly flirting on a lake raft, finally about to admit their feelings to each other after years of yearning. In the next, Trixie—Lucy’s best friend and Ben’s sister—was gone, her heart giving out during a routine swim. And just like that, the idyllic world they knew turned upside down, and the would-be couple drifted apart, swallowed up by their grief. Now it’s a year later in their small lake town, and as the anniversary of Trixie’s death looms, Lucy and Ben’s undeniable connection pulls them back together. They can’t change what happened the day they lost Trixie, but the summer might finally bring them closer to healing—and to each other.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**