My Ideal Boyfriend Is a Croissant by Laura Dockrill – Review

My Ideal Boyfriend Is a CroissantMy Ideal Boyfriend Is a Croissant by Laura Dockrill – This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets of feminism, and commentary on eating will have readers rooting for sixteen-year-old BB as she navigates her world while maintaining her plucky zest for life even in the most trying of times.

It’s a food diary. I have to tell the truth. That’s the point.

Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, also known as BB or Big Bones, lives her life unapologetically. She loves life! She loves food! Continue reading

My Ideal Boyfriend Is a Croissant by Laura Dockrill – Review

My Ideal Boyfriend Is a CroissantMy Ideal Boyfriend Is a Croissant by Laura Dockrill – This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets of feminism, and commentary on eating will have readers rooting for sixteen-year-old BB as she navigates her world while maintaining her plucky zest for life even in the most trying of times.

It’s a food diary. I have to tell the truth. That’s the point.

Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, also known as BB or Big Bones, lives her life unapologetically. She loves life! She loves food! Continue reading

Book Review: A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

cover112715-medium

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is a young adult novel that will be released by Random House on September 26th, 2017. – SYNOPSIS: Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews. Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin #1,001 nearly stops your heart? Right. That sounds like a bad movie already. Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, Continue reading

The Waking Land by Callie Bates Book Review

cover104643-medium.pngThe Waking Land by Callie Bates is young adult, science fiction, fantasy that is scheduled to be released on June 27, 2017 by Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine.

Lady Elanna Valtai is fiercely devoted to the King who raised her like a daughter. But when he dies under mysterious circumstances, Elanna is accused of his murder and must flee for her life. Returning to the homeland of magical legends she has forsaken, Elanna is forced to reckon with her despised, estranged father, branded a traitor long ago. Feeling a strange, deep connection to the natural world, she also must face the truth about the forces she has always denied or disdained as superstition powers that suddenly stir within her. But an all-too-human threat is drawing near, determined to exact vengeance. Now Elanna has no choice but to lead a rebellion against the kingdom to which she once gave her allegiance. Trapped between divided loyalties, she must summon the courage to confront a destiny that could tear her apart. Continue reading

The Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring

the football girl picIf you are looking for a book that will encourage you to do something that you are unsure about or scared to try then The Football Girl by Thatcher Heldring is the book for you. I really enjoyed reading this book about a girl named Tessa Dooley who loves football more than cross country. She decides to try out for her high school football team along side her boyfriend, Caleb McCleary. Caleb is not surprised by this because they play flag football together outside of school and he thinks she is a really good player. While Tessa is an outstanding cross country runner, there is something about football that she loves more. This book shows the challenges that many people face when they decide to face their fears and go for their dreams. I really like how Heldring creates a plot line and setting that is so real you can almost smell the fresh cut grass of the football field.  The ending of this book is a complete surprise, you will have to read it to find out why. This book is a really great read if you need some encouragement.  ** I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**  You can get your copy HERE.

(from amazon.com) The summer before Caleb and Tessa enter high school, friendship has blossomed into a relationship . . . and their playful sports days are coming to an end. Caleb is getting ready to try out for the football team, and Tessa is training for cross-country. But all their structured plans derail in the final flag game when they lose. Tessa doesn’t want to end her career as a loser. She really enjoys playing, and if she’s being honest, she likes it even more than running cross-country. So what if she decided to play football instead? What would happen between her and Caleb? Or between her two best friends, who are counting on her to try out for cross-country with them? And will her parents be upset that she’s decided to take her hobby to the next level? This summer Caleb and Tessa figure out just what it means to be a boyfriend, girlfriend, teammate, best friend, and someone worth cheering for.

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**