Book Review: A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

cover112715-medium

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is a young adult novel that will be released by Random House on September 26th, 2017. – SYNOPSIS: Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews. Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin #1,001 nearly stops your heart? Right. That sounds like a bad movie already. Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, Continue reading

The Thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle

cover111623-medium.pngHigh school junior Emilie will no longer be homeschooled instead she will start public school. Now she lives in fear of having a seizure in front of everyone. Regardless of her fear, she still promises her mom that she will try public school for three months. Hopefully she can keep her epilepsy to herself and no one else will find out. While in public school she becomes friends with Chatham who she is partnered with for an English project and Ayla the leader of the lit mag. Emilie soon discovers there is Continue reading

The Nanny Arrangement: Country Blues Series Book #2 by Rachel Harris

cover111809-mediumThe Nanny Arrangement by Rachel Harris is the second book in Country Blues Series and is scheduled to be release on May 22, 2017 by Entangled Publishing, LLC. I really enjoyed this women’s fiction romance novel. I found that I got lost in the story very easy. The writing style Rachel Harris as gives you such a clear picture and you feel like you are there. The story starts with Hannah and her best friend Deacon as childhood friends. While this is the only chapter and backstory for them, I feel the story could have evolved more if there was more detail of their childhood together. The author likes to set up the stage for you with character build-up and narrative writing. Hannah is the nanny for Deacon’s son while he is on tour with his band. The book takes you chapter by chapter through their love story and includes Deacon’s son Max. Overall, I found this book a very sweet romantic read that I highly recommend. **I received a complimentary Advanced Readers Copy of this book in exchange foe my honest and unbiased review.**

SYNOPSIS: Soft-spoken and shy Hannah Fisher is determined to make the man she’s loved her entire life finally see her as a woman. With the help of a makeover, a new mission—Operation Find My Happy—and the convenient forced proximity of a tour bus, she vows to win her best friend Deacon’s heart. Former bad boy and current fiddle player Deacon Latrell has the world at his fingertips: a new gig with a famous band, plus his best friend on tour as his son’s nanny. Life couldn’t get much sweeterNow if only he could stop imagining kissing the daylights out of his childhood BFF with one friend set on pushing the boundaries and the other afraid to rock the boat, one thing’s for certain—their story would make one heck of a country song.

 

About the author:

5347676.jpgNew York Times bestselling author Rachel Harris writes humorous love stories about sassy girls-next-door and the hot guys that make them swoon. Vibrant settings, witty banter, and strong relationships are a staple in each of her books…and kissing. Lots of kissing. An admitted Diet Mountain Dew addict and homeschool mom, she gets through each day by laughing at herself, hugging her kids, and watching way too much Food Network with her husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult romances, and LOVES talking with readers!

Newsletter    Website     Reader’s Group, The Flirt Squad

Famous by Default – M.K. Harkins

mk harkinsFamous by Default – M.K. Harkins is a remarkable story of love, coming of age, life and loss. This story centers around two characters named Jax and Sivan. Jax is the youngest brother of a famous boy band. While he loves music and can play the guitar, he wants no part of that world. Sivan becomes a foster child of the state after losing her immediate family and having no relatives. She has seen more than her fair share of the abuse and neglect that sometimes accompanies foster care. They both get sent to Miss Betty’s, a farm in Iowa that is in the middle of nowhere. Betty is Jax’s aunt and Sivan’s foster parent. At first there is tension between the two, both have different pasts and are struggling to deal with their own issues. However, they soon begin to rely on each other and finds ways to help the other deal with their own demons. This book has many ups and downs making you want to cry one moment and smile the next. There are a few issues in this story that involve the hardships that some foster children have to face. Harkins does an amazing job of addressing such issues! His style of writing is easy to follow and he seamlessly goes from Jax’s point of view to Sivan’s. I really enjoyed reading this story and look forward to reading more of his books.  ** I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.** You can purchase your copy HERE

(from amazon.com) Jax Buried, By my family’s fame. Dying to escape the limelight, And finally, I do. Being raised as a Jayne, I’m under constant scrutiny. The rock band my brothers formed makes it impossible to stay under the radar. Paparazzi, tabloids, rabidfans–you name it and I’ve got it. It all makes me sick. But getting shippedoff to crazy Aunt Betty’s house in my senior year of high school isn’t anybetter. After all, there isn’t a stray kid or pet in the world that my auntwouldn’t take in. Then I meet her. She’s cautious, suspicious, and not interested in me at all.But that’s fine by me. Sivan Holt may be beautiful and intelligent, but she’snothing I’m looking for.

Sivan Drowning, In my past. Struggling to feel settled. And finally, I do. Growing up in the foster care system, I longed for a sense of belonging. All Iwanted was a place to call home. At the age of seventeen, I’m finally startingto feel it here. Home. When he comes along, it unsettles me. I don’t want him to ruin everything we’vebuilt–everything that matters. Jax Jayne is arrogant, privileged, and I wantnothing to do with him. But those green eyes of his keep drawing me in. If Ilet down my walls, will it be my final undoing?

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links**