Book Review of The Windfall by Diksha Basu – A Book of the Month July Selection

32569560The Windfall by Diksha Basu was published on June 27th 2017 by Crown Publishing. SYNOPSIS: A heartfelt comedy of manners, Diksha Basu’s debut novel unfolds the story of a family discovering what it means to “make it” in modern India. For the past thirty years, Mr. and Mrs. Jha’s lives have been defined by cramped spaces, cut corners, gossipy neighbors, and the small dramas of stolen yoga pants and stale marriages. They thought they’d settled comfortably into their golden years, pleased with their son’s acceptance into an American business school. But then Mr. Jha comes into an enormous and unexpected sum of money, and moves his wife from their housing complex in East Delhi to the super-rich side Continue reading

Book Review of The Two of Us by Victoria Bylin

cover111696-medium.pngThe Two of Us by Victoria Bylin will be released on August 8th, 2017 by Bethany House Publishers and is a Christian novel. – SYNOPSIS: Heartwarming and Touching New Contemporary Romance from Victoria Bylin. After two broken engagements, nurse practitioner Mia Robinson is done with dating. From now on, she only trusts herself and God, and she’s focused on her eighteen-year-old sister, Lucy, and caring for patients. Just as she applies to work for an international aid organization, a phone call from Lucy, who’s pregnant and running off to marry her twenty-one-year-old boyfriend, throws a wrench into all of Mia’s plans. Continue reading

Book Review of Here and Gone: A Novel By Haylen Beck

9780451499578Here and Gone: A Novel By Haylen Beck is a thriller that was published on June 20th 2017 by Crown Publishing Group, NY. SYNOPSIS: Here and Gone is a gripping, wonderfully tense suspense thriller about a mother’s desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.. It begins with a woman fleeing through Arizona with her kids in tow, trying to escape an abusive marriage. When she’s pulled over by an unsettling local sheriff, things soon go awry and she is taken into custody. Only when she gets to the station, her kids are gone. And then the cops start saying they never saw any kids with her, that if they’re gone than she must have done something with them… Continue reading

Book Review of You Can Do This: Seizing the Confidence God Offers by Tricia Lott Williford

32988114You Can Do This: Seizing the Confidence God Offers by Tricia Lott Williford was published on June 20th 2017 by NavPress Publishing Group. – SYNOPSIS: “I’m inviting you into the confidence conversation.  It’s time to stop being unhappy with yourself. You can choose to stop second-guessing all of your decisions and commitment and wondering whether your life would be better if only you had chosen differently.  I invite you to be present where you are—where God is!—and to embrace your life and live out your God-given gift of confidence. Come join me in the pages, my friend.  Let’s talk about who you are.  Let’s hold hands and run hard into the glorious mess of it all.  I don’t know what challenges wait for you, but this I know for sure: You Can Do This.” When you’ve finished reading this book, Continue reading

Review of The Weekly Prayer Project: A Challenge to Journal, Pray, Reflect, and Connect with God By Zondervan

_225_350_Book.2319.coverThe Weekly Prayer Project: A Challenge to Journal, Pray, Reflect, and Connect with God is scheduled to be released on July 4th, 2017 by Zondervan. Are you ready for a project that will actually change your life? Challenge yourself to journal, pray, reflect, and connect with God with The Weekly Prayer Project. Fifty-two scriptures, one for each week of the year, explore different types of prayers found in the Bible, from prayers of gratitude and thankfulness to prayers of lament and intercession. Each week’s journaling prompts will guide you to reflect on God’s work in your life and to pray with intention. Walk through this book, and see your faith deepen and your joy soar.

Continue reading

Book Review: A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck

cover112715-medium

A Short History of the Girl Next Door by Jared Reck is a young adult novel that will be released by Random House on September 26th, 2017. – SYNOPSIS: Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews. Seriously, how can you see a person nearly every day of your life and never think a thing of it, then all of a sudden, one day, it’s different? You see that goofy grin a thousand times and just laugh. But goofy grin #1,001 nearly stops your heart? Right. That sounds like a bad movie already. Matt Wainwright is constantly sabotaged by the overdramatic movie director in his head. He can’t tell his best friend, Tabby, how he really feels about her, he implodes on the JV basketball team, Continue reading