The Butcher’s Daughter (The Foundlings Trilogy #3) by Wendy Corsi Staub – Review

The Butcher's Daughter (Foundlings)New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub is the master of psychological suspense. In her latest thriller, an investigative genealogist digs for her own biological roots, well aware that some secrets are better left buried.

Investigative genealogist Amelia Crenshaw solves clients’ genetic puzzles, while hers remains shrouded in mystery. Now she suspects that the key to her birth parents’ identities lies in an unexpected connection to a stranger who’s hired her to find his long-lost daughter. Bracing herself for a shocking truth, Amelia is blindsided by a deadly one.

NYPD Detective Stockton Barnes had walked away from his only child for her own good. He’ll lay down his life to protect her if he and Amelia can find out where—and who—she is. But someone has beat them to it, and she has a lethal score to settle.

Amelia and Stockton’s entangled roots have unearthed a femme fatale whose family tree holds one of history’s most notorious killers. And the apple never falls far…

Publisher: William Morrow (August 25, 2020)
Genre: English
ISBN-10: 0062742094 – ISBN-13: 978-0062742094
Amazon  –  Goodreads

Wendy Corsi StaubAbout the author: New York Times bestseller Wendy Corsi Staub is the award-winning author of more than ninety novels, best known for the single title psychological suspense novels she writes under her own name. Those books and the women’s fiction she writes under the pseudonym Wendy Markham have also appeared on the USA Today, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Bookscan bestseller lists.

LITTLE GIRL LOST (July, William Morrow) launches Wendy’s fifth suspense trilogy for HarperCollins. In 2017, she concluded her Mundy’s Landing trilogy with BONE WHITE (April, William Morrow), and released DEAD OF WINTER (November, Crooked Lane), the third title in her Lily Dale traditional mystery series.

Her novel HELLO, IT’S ME was a recent Hallmark television movie starring Kellie Martin. Her short story “Cat Got Your Tongue” will appear in R.L. Stine’s upcoming MWA middle grade anthology SCREAM AND SCREAM AGAIN (HarperCollins, 2018).

A three-time finalist for the Simon and Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award, she’s won an RWA Rita Award, an RT Award for Career Achievement in Suspense, the 2007 RWA-NYC Golden Apple Award for Lifetime Achievement, and five WLA Washington Irving Prizes for Fiction.

She previously published a dozen adult suspense novels with Kensington Books and the critically-acclaimed young adult paranormal series “Lily Dale” (Walker/Bloomsbury). Earlier in her career, she published a broad range of genres under her own name and pseudonyms, and was a co-author/ghostwriter for several celebrities.

Raised in Dunkirk, NY, Wendy graduated from SUNY Fredonia and launched a publishing career in New York City. She was Associate Editor at Silhouette Books before selling her first novel in 1992. Married with two sons, she lives in the NYC suburbs. An active supporter of the American Cancer Society, she was a featured speaker at Northern Westchester’s 2015 Relay for Life and 2012 National Spokesperson for the Sandy Rollman Ovarian Cancer Foundation. She has has fostered for various animal rescue organizations. www.wendycorsistaub.com

Review of The Butcher’s Daughter

The third book in the highly anticipated Foundlings Trilogy by Wendy Corsi Staub is titled The Butcher’s Daughter. A riveting thriller that pulls you in and sends you on a suspenseful journey that is full of twists and turns. The Butcher’s Daughter is another shockingly dark book that is perfect for fans of Staub. While this is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone, but you will understand more of the story if you read the series in order. The character development is intriguing and pulls you in at just the right time to keep you guessing. I enjoyed watching these storylines develop and converge throughout the novel and will be revisiting this series to read from the beginning. *I received a complimentary copy in exchange for a review.*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s