5 Books to Read If You Love Downton Abbey

5 BOOKS TO READ IF YOU LOVE DOWNTON ABBEY - Lovely LovedayHave you watched every season of Downton Abbey? Are you patiently waiting to watch the movie? Well thankfully you can still get the grandeur of the early 1900’s with a few of this captivating reads. Go back in time to a world full of splendor and grace with elegant gatherings and exquisite family manors. These books have everything you need to escape to another place, another time. Hopefully, you can find your next getaway in this list of historical fiction must-reads. 

 

 

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The Lost Legacy of Highclere Castle

Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey: The Lost Legacy of Highclere Castle by Fiona Carnarvon

This rich tale contrasts the splendor of Edwardian life in a great house against the backdrop of the First World War and offers an inspiring and revealing picture of the woman at the center of the history of Highclere Castle.

Lost Among the Living

Lost Among the Living by Simone St. James

England, 1921. Three years after her husband, Alex, disappeared, shot down over Germany, Jo Manders still mourns his loss. Working as a paid companion to Alex’s wealthy, condescending aunt, Dottie Forsyth, Jo travels to the family’s estate in the Sussex countryside. But there is much she never knew about her husband’s origins…and the revelation of a mysterious death in the Forsyths’ past is just the beginning…

The Downstairs Girl

The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee

From the critically-acclaimed author of Under a Painted Sky and Outrun the Moon and founding member of We Need Diverse Books comes a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family.

Beauchamp Hall

Beauchamp Hall by Danielle Steel

#1 New York Times bestselling author Danielle Steel tells the uplifting story of an ordinary woman embracing an extraordinary adventure, and the daring choice that transforms her world.

Lovely War

Lovely War by Julie Berry

A sweeping, multi-layered romance with a divine twist, by the Printz Honor-winning author of The Passion of Dolssa, set in the perilous days of World Wars I and II.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s