A Woman is No Man by Etaf Rum – Review

A Woman Is No ManA Woman Is No Man by Etaf Rum 

Expected publication: March 5th, 2019 by Harper
Historical Fiction
ISBN-10: 0062699768
ISBN-13: 978-0062699763

In Brooklyn, eighteen-year-old Deya is starting to meet with suitors. Though she doesn’t want to get married, her grandparents give her no choice. History is repeating itself: Deya’s mother, Isra, also had no choice when she left Palestine as a teenager to marry Adam. Though Deya was raised to believe her parents died in a car accident, a secret note from a mysterious, yet familiar-looking woman makes Deya question everything she was told about her past. As the narrative alternates between the lives of Deya and Isra, she begins to understand the dark, complex secrets behind her fragile community.

Set in an America that may feel removed yet is all too close at hand, A Woman Is No Man is both a gripping page-turner and an intimate family portrait. Fans of The Kite Runner and Everything I Never Told You will be drawn to this powerful novel.

Goodreads   –   Amazon

Etaf RumAbout the author: Etaf Rum was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York, by Palestinian immigrants. She teaches college English literature in North Carolina, where she lives with her two children. She also runs the Instagram account @booksandbeans. A Woman Is No Man is her first novel.

Goodreads   –   Amazon    –  Instagram

 

 

 

My Review: A Woman Is No Man is a historical fiction novel written by Etaf Rum. A beautifully written story about three generations of Palestinian women and the struggles they face coping with a culture steeped in tradition in a country that has values that are diametrical to theirs. Rum has woven three points of view seamlessly from one to another jumping from time and place. A Woman Is No Man is an eye-opening read that shares a too common story of how women are suppressed and abused. A story of hope and determination to find answers to questions to her family’s history that have been left unasked, unanswered. A Woman Is No Man is a remarkable read that is sure to relate to many readers! ** I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links.** 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s