The Thing with Feathers by McCall Hoyle

cover111623-medium.pngHigh school junior Emilie will no longer be homeschooled instead she will start public school. Now she lives in fear of having a seizure in front of everyone. Regardless of her fear, she still promises her mom that she will try public school for three months. Hopefully she can keep her epilepsy to herself and no one else will find out. While in public school she becomes friends with Chatham who she is partnered with for an English project and Ayla the leader of the lit mag. Emilie soon discovers there is more to life than just books and movies. The writer creates a beautiful setting that takes place along the North Carolina coast. The story line and character are well meshed together creating an amazing story of love, friendship and hardships. This book will hold your attention until the last page. A true must read! **I received an Advanced Readers Copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**

SYNOPSIS: Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s homeschooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim. Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy. Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.” From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper. The Thing with Feathers features a stunning cover with embossing.

Publication date September 5, 2017 by Bink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s